The Athlete


Roman Martin (April 30, 1997) is an American soccer player and product of the San Diego-based Nomads Soccer Club. Martin began his career with the club in 2006 at the age of eight. In the summer of 2013, Martin took a break from training with the Nomads U.S. Development Academy to join a Brazilian club for international duty.

Martin joined Clube Pequeninos do Jockey’s Under-16 team known as Dentão, competing in top-level international competition in Finland, Sweden, Denmark and Norway and finishing with a European record of 31:3:2. The Pequeninos were crowned champions of the 2013 Dana Cup and the 2013 Sandar Cup, and the club also took bronze at the Gothia Youth World Cup and registered a semi-final finish in the Helsinki Cup.

Martin is a junior and attends the La Jolla Country Day School where he is a honor student. In 2012, Martin formed a charity called “PlayforOthers,” where he is raising $50,000 for children suffering from sensory processing disorder, which impacts 1 out of every 20 children in the U.S.


  • MVP, University of California at Berkeley Soccer Camp
  • MVP, Clemson University Soccer Camp
  • MVP, Nomads Soccer Club team award
  • All Conference Honors, CIF: San Diego Section
  • San Diego Union-Tribune All-Academic Team


Nomads Soccer Club, USSF Development Academy, San Diego, California (8 years) Clube Pequeninos do Jockey, São Paulo, Brazil (European record 31:3:2)

  • Champion, Dana Cup – Hjorring, Denmark
  • Bronze Medalist, Gothia Youth World Cup – Gothenburg, Sweden
  • Semi-Finalist, Helsinki Cup – Helsinki, Finland

Clube Esportivo Ordin, São Paulo, Brazil

  • Semi-Finalist, Barcelona Cup – Barcelona, Spain
  • Semi-Finalist, Helsinki Cup – Helsinki, Finland
  • Bracket Winner, Gothia Youth World Cup – Gothenburg, Sweden

La Jolla Country Day School, La Jolla, California

  • Quarter-Finalist, CIF: San Diego Section
  • 45 consecutive varsity starts (freshman/sophomore)

International Experience

  • 4 overseas tours and 70 games played in Brazil, Spain, Finland (2), Sweden (2), Denmark, Norway and England